A Look Inside – Feeling Human

Feeling Human Back Cover FinalSince I put up excerpts of one of my other novels on my Miss LiV Adventures blog today, I thought I’d post an excerpt of Feeling Human here. Only 3 more days until the April 12th Release!

Jac’s adventures inside other humans vary from hilarious, touching to terrifying. This is a fairly light excerpt with a bit of a cliff-hanger from when Jac’s occupying a thirty-something guy named Bruce:

‘Bruce looked up when the outside door opened and laughed a hearty, “Hey Benny!”

“Hey Bruce. What’s happenin’?” The short, lean man in a high collar leather jacket full of zippers, popped onto a stool, and a beer from Arnie appeared in front of him.

“Finally talked to Minnie.”

“Alright. Way to do it. Is she into you?”

“Aw shut up, Benny.”

The two men smiled and sipped their beers. Jac was again lulled with the easy vibe Bruce carried. Even with this guy right at his elbow.

“How you doin’ with Carol?” Bruce’s brow cocked at Benny.

Benny smacked Bruce playfully up side of the head.

Whoa…Crap! Jac thought as he was suddenly staring at Bruce’s mock threat of retaliation and laughing with Benny’s voice.

Yikes! This guy is already kinda drunk. Benny’s wooziness hit Jac like he’d just jumped off a merry-go-round, but it didn’t cloud his mind. Weird, so I can feel Benny’s buzz but not be affected by it? This should be fun! Mmm, it’s bizarre when his eyes swing too fast. I hope he doesn’t walk around.

“But seriously. Have you seen Carol?” Bruce asked Benny.

“Yeah, yeah. Seen her. I always see her. But I’m a short drunk, Bruce.”

Jac mentally winced for the jump of bodies as he saw Bruce’s paw come up to pat Benny on the back.

Nothing…what? Oh, I get it. Clothes. That’s why Minnie didn’t lose me when she bumped into Bruce by the door. He grabbed her shoulder through her uniform. It has to be skin to skin. Or hair, I guess. Human contact. Wow.

“Don’t take it so hard, Benny. You got a better chance than I do. At least you’re agile. And you’ve got a car.”

“Oh yeah, my sexy Taurus with one wrecked fender. That’ll win her over.” Benny guzzled the rest of his pint and wrestled a crumpled bill out of his pocket onto the counter. Jac’s mind would’ve been spinning, if he’d been in charge of this body. “Well, I just stopped in for a quick one,” Benny explained, “I’m on my way out to One Shot Charlie’s.”

“Okay. Drive safely, Benster.” Bruce nodded.

“Yeah, yeah.” Benny caught his balance after jumping to the floor.

Jac changed his mind about not being affected by the alcohol. Just because he could still analyze clearly didn’t mean things were normal. Benny’s vision was all over the place and his messed up equilibrium and corresponding body checks were really disconcerting.

“Later,” Arnie called.

“Say hi to Carol from me,” Bruce cheered as Benny and Jac left Nick’s Place.

When they hit the pavement, Jac worried they’d hit it for real. We’re getting in a car like this?’

Copyright ©2017 by Sheri J. Kennedy
All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

